Get all of the latest Health news from The Scotsman. Providing fresh perspective online for news across the UK Buy certified halal CBD oil and CBD products online – suitable for Muslims and anyone who follows the Islamic faith. Is CBD halal? We have done the research so you can purchase CBD oils, capsules or e-liquids and be confident there are no haram ingredients.
Is CBD Halal or Haram? A guide for 2022
While dietary preferences based on allergies or ethics can make choosing a particular food supplement difficult, it is religious dietary lifestyles that often prove the most complicated.
Not only do followers of faiths not always agree, on which foods and beverages are acceptable to consume, but there’s also a wide range of practices and restrictions across different religious groups and sects.
For example, while alcohol is banned in Islam and off-limits for Buddhist adherents, it’s freely consumed by the roughly one billion people of the Hindu faith, writes Halal CBD.
Here it asks whether CBD is Halal or Haram
The intersection between religious dietary laws and the exploding market for cannabidiol (CBD) is no exception, with some Muslims voicing concerns that CBD may not be halal or permissible to consume under their faiths’ guidelines.
What is Halal?
Halal is a term that means “permissible” in Arabic, and it’s the term used to indicate if something is religiously permissible. The opposite of halal would be haram, or “forbidden”.
For adherents of Islam (the world’s second-largest religion after Christianity), halal dietary guidelines are intended to make sure all food and beverages consumed are in accordance with the Qur’an and Islamic law.
The Qur’an is the holy book of Islam, and it includes passages about halal foods that God (Allah) has made lawful for believers to consume. These guidelines dictate that animals must be slaughtered via a specific cut made to jugular veins, which drains all their blood while leaving the spinal cord intact.
But halal isn’t just about how the meat is slaughtered. Muslims also need to ensure the food they consume won’t cause them any physical harm – such as cancer or if their bodies can’t properly digest them.
As for beverages, many scholars believe that passages within Islam’s holy book clearly prohibit alcohol consumption, citing that it causes haram behaviours that would shame a believer’s faith.
CBD and Halal: Is CBD Oil Halal?
Considering that CBD is derived from hemp or cannabis plants, both of which contain varying quantities of THC (tetrahydrocannabinol), there are concerns about its status as halal. While it’s important to note that the psychoactive compound in cannabis is not present in CBD products, some Muslims still perceive CBD as a haram product in Islamic faith due to its association with THC’s psychoactive properties.
So the argument becomes: If CBD products contain no THC, as is the case with CBD isolate and broad-spectrum CBD formulas, is it halal?
Some Muslim scholars believe that if a CBD product is derived from hemp and contains no THC or other psychoactive agents, it should be considered halal so that it can be used for its health benefits. But others aren’t so sure, believing CBD’s status as haram depends on the plant it came from (hemp vs cannabis) and how it was sourced.
Furthermore, since non-halal items such as food additives like gelatine or alcohol are often used in CBD processing, some Muslims claim they cannot consider it halal because certain ingredients might render it haram.
And with the advancements in the health food industry, much of the food and drink we consume can now be made with halal-friendly products like vegetable-based capsules, GMO-free rice paper and water-based glaze for CBD sweets.
Recommended Halal CBD Oils to Buy
If you are Muslim or follow a halal diet, finding CBD products can be tricky. Fortunately, we’ve done the research to uncover two of the best CBD brands in the UK that offer CBD products that can be considered halal by Muslims who are okay with using non-psychoactive CBD hemp plant extracts.
Using an advanced supercritical CO2 distillation process that produces a potent CBD hemp extract, Blessed CBD products are free from THC, heavy metals, pesticides and herbicides.
Furthermore, Blessed CBD uses vegan hemp seed oil for maximum bioactivity and offers lab reports on every batch produced by 3rd party testing laboratories.
Offering broad-spectrum CBD oil tinctures in concentrations of 500mg, 1000mg, and 1800mg per 10ml bottle, Blessed CBD oil is the perfect way to adhere to the tenets of Islam without fear of accidentally using a product that may contain ingredients that are halal-restricted.
Additionally, their CBD capsules and gummies are isolate-based, which means there is no THC and is considered halal. The CBD balm is not only the perfect way to soothe sore muscles and chronic pain, but it is also vegan, cruelty-free and made with organic hemp seed oil and shea butter.
Vibes CBD is well known throughout the UK for its premium quality CBD products, specialising exclusively in broad-spectrum and CBD isolate formulas.
Made with pure CBD isolate and blended with other terpenes and phytocannabinoids (non-psychoactive), Vibes CBD also uses CO2 supercritical extraction methods to ensure that all of their hemp-derived ingredients are free from THC and other impurities.
Their oils, tinctures, capsules, topicals, and gummies are all vegan-friendly and cruelty-free.
Vibes CBD’s customer service department is always available to answer questions about their products. In addition, you can find batch numbers referenced on all product labels to ensure the ingredients and formulas meet halal standards.
If you’re looking to experience the benefits of CBD with THC-free products, try Vibes CBD.
What CBD Products Are Not Halal?
While there may be controversy surrounding whether or not all CBD products are halal, there is a clear consensus regarding specific CBD products that are not considered halal under Islamic guidelines.
One example is any CBD product that is considered to be a full-spectrum CBD oil. Full-spectrum CBD products contain full-plant parts and an unfiltered amount of cannabinoids, including THC, in their formula.
Even though UK law mandates that the amount of THC be less than 1mg per CBD product container, an amount that will not likely cause any sort of psychoactive reaction, it’s still not halal because THC is present.
Additionally, any CBD capsules made using bovine gelatine or other non-halal food-grade capsules will not be considered halal as well. While the gelatine in these capsules may not contain any alcohol, it is still non-halal because it comes from a haram animal source.
Some CBD edibles, such as gummies, may also be considered haram if they are made with food dyes sourced from animal by-products or contain traces of alcohol from the manufacturing process.
Basically, if a CBD product contains any trace of THC, animal by-product, or involves a manufacturing process using alcohol, it can be considered haram and not halal.
How Can I Know if a CBD Product is Halal?
If you subscribe to the notion that CBD products that don’t contain any trace of THC, are sourced from hemp plants, and don’t use any alcohol in their extraction or refinement processes are halal, that opens up many options.
When shopping around for CBD products that could be considered halal, look for ones that meet the following criteria.
Broad-spectrum CBD formulas such as tinctures, creams, capsules, and edibles contain all beneficial cannabinoids and terpenes found in the plant. However, what classifies them as a halal product is the fact that broad-spectrum formulas undergo additional refinement to remove any trace of THC and other psychoactive cannabinoids such as CBN and Delta-8/9 THC. These cannabinoids are known for their psychoactive properties, which, in addition to being a controlled substance in the UK, is why they are filtered out of the hemp extract.
Broad-spectrum CBD oils typically use an MCT or hemp seed oil carrier oil to enhance bioavailability and offer a full-plant CBD experience without any psychoactive effects. These oils are generally considered halal.
*CBD Isolate Oil
Not everyone that takes CBD products is looking for a host of cannabinoids or other added ingredients. Instead, many CBD consumers in the UK simply want a product that contains nothing but pure CBD and MCT oil for maximum absorption.
Free from THC, psychoactive cannabinoids, terpenes, and other plant materials, CBD isolates are considered the purest, and if made using a halal carrier oil such as hemp seed oil or fractionated coconut oil, they can be 100% halal.
CBD isolates are often the base for a variety of CBD products, including topical skincare creams, CBD capsules, and CBD gummies. Therefore, finding lab reports that verify the purity of a CBD isolate formula is extremely important.
Pro Tip: Some manufacturers will sell a CBD isolate product that contains no THC but may still be formulated with non-halal ingredients such as gelatine, dye, and alcohol. Make sure to always check the ingredients and avoid purchases without detailed lab reports verifying the purity of the CBD isolate and the presence of halal-friendly ingredients.
*Vegan & Cruelty-Free
Looking for certified vegan and cruelty-free CBD products will help ensure that the products are not sourced from any animal by-product that wasn’t killed and prepared under halal guidelines described in the Qur’an.
Vegan and cruelty-free products will also have a much better safety profile as they avoid using some of the chemicals found in non-vegan or animal-tested products, such as artificial dyes, parabens, and alcohol.
Pro Tip: If you combine your online search for a quality CBD product by using the keywords “vegan” and “cruelty-free”, you’ll limit your search to products that are safe for vegans, people with halal dietary standards, and Muslims looking for cruelty-free CBD options.
Remember that before purchasing any CBD product, it is highly recommended to do your own research. That means contacting the CBD company you want to purchase from to verify the information on their website fall in line with the tenets of Islam.
Halal-Friendly CBD Products in the UK
Whether or not you think CBD is halal, it is essential to know which CBD brands can be safely consumed by Muslims and those following a halal diet. Many great companies are offering high-quality CBD products that fall in line with the tenets of Islam.
Remember that not all CBD products are made the same, and your own research will be required to ensure your health and wellness needs are met with a high-quality, halal-friendly CBD oil product.
Is CBD halal or haram? Browse our halal collection perfect for those looking to incorporate halal CBD products into their healthy lifestyle. Read on to find out what makes this collection halal or browse other popular categories CBD Oil| Edibles | CBD Skincare.
Items 1 – 52 of 152
Recommended to you
Items 1 – 52 of 152
CBD For All! Is Your CBD Product Halal?
Halal is an Arabic word for ‘permissible’ or ‘lawful’ and is mainly used to describe food preparation in line with Islamic dietary standards. While halal is primarily followed by Muslims, others may choose a halal way of life to consume clean and highly regulated products.
If you’re looking for a halal CBD product, we’ve done the hard work for you with our exclusive halal CBD collection. If you don’t follow the Islamic faith, this article can help you better understand what halal means and specifically what halal certification means in relation to CBD. This article has been written to provide an overview of halal and not as a religious authority.
What does “halal” mean?
The term halal translates to ‘lawful’ or ‘permitted’. According to Islamic dietary laws, certain foods are considered halal, while others are haram (forbidden). For Muslims who obey Islamic law, halal certification ensures that the food is not haram. Although halal guidelines are mainly discussed in regards to how livestock is raised, slaughtered, and prepared, halal can also include pharmaceuticals, personal care and even travel and recreation activities.
Haram or forbidden products include pork and pork-based products, most carnivorous animals like birds of prey, all intoxicants like alcohol, plus any foods contaminated with any of the above products. In addition, food must be produced and stored according to Islamic law. Muslims eat to maintain a healthy and robust physique to contribute their knowledge and effort for the welfare of society. Many consider a halal diet and lifestyle to be a clean way of living.
Is CBD halal?
Although most people think of food and drink when they hear halal, it also extends to pharmaceuticals. Unlike most drugs and supplements, CBD is an all-natural ingredient, often derived from organically grown hemp and blended with few other ingredients like olive oil and natural flavours. That’s why CBD is often referred to as nature’s best-kept secret, praised by CBD users for its healing benefits for everything from anxiety to arthritis . So let’s take a look at what makes CBD halal or haram.
According to Islamic law, intoxicants of any kind are haram or forbidden. So, where does that leave CBD? Cannabis, from which CBD is derived, contains THC, the compound associated with the stoners’ high’. In the not so distant past, all cannabis products were illegal in most countries worldwide because of its intoxicating effects. However, all that changed when scientists isolated CBD and education around the beneficial health effects grew. Today, it’s possible to separate CBD from all other cannabis compounds, including THC. CBD alone does not possess any intoxicating effects, instead, it’s known for its balancing effect on the mind and body. What’s more, in the UK and most parts of the world, CBD must be extracted from low THC hemp, a non-intoxicating plant. That’s why THC is viewed as haram while CBD is halal.
Some CBD tinctures are made using solvents like alcohol. Generally speaking, foods contaminated with banned substances like alcohol are prohibited under Islamic law. A 2019 study found that one CBD product contained high enough alcohol to be classed as an alcoholic beverage despite not being listed in the ingredients. Being halal certified ensures that the product is not contaminated with alcohol. Being called a tincture suggests that the CBD oil was made using alcohol, so is best avoided if searching for a halal product.
Pork and pork derivatives
In addition to intoxicants like alcohol and THC, some products like gummies and capsules may contain haram ingredients like pork gelatin. To avoid this, it is best to select certified vegetarian products, of which there are many today due to the growing popularity of plant-based diets.
Whether or not you can vape CBD will depend on how closely Islamic law is followed. If a CBD vape liquid is nicotine, alcohol, THC and gelatine free, it could be argued that vaping is not haram. However, if you practice the religion strictly, you may decide that vaping isn’t halal as it is strictly for pleasure and may disturb others. Generally, vaping is frowned upon by Muslims. However, there’s no clear answer to the question of whether e-liquids are halal; that’s down to the individual to decide.
THC usage is a definite no-no for Muslims and those following a halal diet. However, the absence of this compound makes hemp extract a beneficial plant with many reported health benefits. With the absence of the intoxicating compound THC, CBD can be viewed in a similar light to other herbal supplements like echinacea or lavender. When produced without pork derivatives, THC and alcohol, CBD can be considered halal, and some companies are now adding a halal certification to their products. It is always best to check the lab report as well as the label to ensure the product you are using is THC free. Every product on our website comes with a lab report to verify the contents. As you can see, following the Islamic faith is no reason to miss out on the many excellent benefits of CBD, so what are you waiting for? Enjoy browsing our exclusion collection of halal products!
What is CBD?
CBD is a non-psychoactive compound found in cannabis plants. It has grown in popularity as a natural ingredient found in many wellness products today, from oils and tinctures to gummies and patches. It’s praised for its wide range of potential benefits and is used for conditions such as sleep, stress and chronic pain.
Is CBD legal?
In the UK and many parts of the world today, CBD is legal when extracted from low THC hemp. THC is still a heavily regulated compound and cannot exceed 1mg in any CBD product. Marijuana or high THC cannabis remains illegal in the UK. While THC is widely used for recreation, CBD won’t cause any intoxicating effects and is used instead as a wellness supplement.
What is halal?
Halal is used in the Islamic faith to distinguish between food, drink and lifestyle choices considered lawful or forbidden (haram). Halal extends to how food is prepared and stored, as well as to pharmaceutical and healthcare products. The most well known halal practices are around the slaughter and preparation of meat and the prohibition of pork and intoxicating substances like alcohol.
Is CBD halal?
Because CBD is non-intoxicating, it can be considered halal. However, CBD products should not contain alcohol, THC or pork derivatives to be halal. Vaping is also frowned upon by many, even if it doesn’t contain nicotine. Always check the lab reports for THC and the ingredients list to ensure the product is vegetarian if you abide by a halal diet. Some brands today are also certifying their product as halal.
Is ‘weed’ halal?
The jury is still out on whether weed is halal or haram. While the Quran does not directly forbid cannabis, THC is an intoxicating substance that can cloud your judgement and adversely affect health. Others argue that since cannabis comes from the earth and is non-toxic, it is allowed in some cases. Not everyone uses cannabis as a recreational drug, in some countries and states it’s legal medicinally. We’d say it’s down to how and why you’re using cannabis and your own personal judgement.
Does CBD have any side effects?
There are no known serious side effects of taking CBD; however, minor side effects can occur when CBD is taken in abnormally high quantities. These include change of appetite, headaches, nausea and drowsiness. CBD is considered a well-tolerated compound with a good safety profile (according to the World Health Organisation). It can be the other ingredients included that may cause side effects, so always check the label. CBD is also known to interact with certain supplements and medications, so always check with your doctor if you’re unsure.
Is CBD Halal or Haram?
Halal is Arabic for permissible and haram means prohibited or sin. Halal foods are those that are allowed according to the traditional Islamic laws defined in the Qur’an. A practising Muslim must not consume anything that isn’t considered to be halal.
Since CBD has become such a popular food supplement, some people are unclear as to whether it’s halal or haram. According to the Qur’an, substances that “curtain the mind” are haram. This is understood to be substances that intoxicate and includes cannabis. Because CBD is extracted from hemp varieties of cannabis, is it forbidden too?
Is CBD Halal or Haram – Fast facts
- CBD is halal as it is a non-intoxicating substance.
- CBD products containing THC, alcohol, nicotine, and flavourings or gelatine from non-halal animal products are haram.
- Vaping CBD is considered halal as long as the e-liquid contains no nicotine, THC or other ingredients that are considered haram.
- Currently the only halal certified CBD products we have found in the UK are Cibdol CBD capsules.
- As a practicing Muslim, choose products that are THC free, certified vegan and are not labelled as “tinctures”.
Is CBD halal?
CBD oils and vape liquids are halal if it they are non-intoxicating and free from THC. However, this can depend on the type of CBD product you use and if it contains any additional ingredients that may be haram. Common ingredients such as gelatine, food colouring and flavourings are sometimes haram.
Some CBD products contain haram ingredients
Gelatine – Some CBD capsules use gelatine and are haram. However, if it is bovine gelatine and the cow was slaughtered to halal standards, it would be permissible.
Flavourings – Flavourings and colouring can also be haram if they don’t come from a halal source. For example, some can contain alcohol by-products or non-halal animal products.
Vape Juices – On the face of it, CBD e-liquids meet the standards of halal, but there is fierce debate around whether the act of vaping should be forbidden. In 2015 the Malaysian National Fatwa Council declared vaping of electronic cigarettes as haram, but this may not apply to vaping CBD.
Some argue that if in the future science can prove that it is entirely safe and vape juices contain all-natural ingredients, then it should be permissible. But others see vaping, even if safe, as an imitation of a sinful act and as such, haram.
Alcohol – Anything advertised as a “tincture” should be avoided; they are made by dissolving hemp extract in alcohol. While the amount of alcohol is negligible, tinctures are easily avoided as most CBD oils use an extraction method that uses supercritical CO2 which contains no alcohol or its derivatives.
Alcohol in small amounts can be ok if the purpose of the product is to heal, but only if there are no other options.
Why is CBD halal if cannabis is haram?
According to Islam Q&A, the intoxicating cannabinoid THC is considered as haram, but this doesn’t apply to the whole cannabis plant. Other substances found in cannabis such as CBD are unlikely to be haram as they’re considered safe to consume and don’t cause intoxication. However, it is forbidden to consume them alongside THC in an intoxicating cannabis product.
Even CBD products that still contain tiny traces of THC are ok if it is absorbed by your body and can’t be detected. The UK legal limit for THC in CBD products is 1mg per container so, if an item meets this standard its likely to be halal.
Guide to finding halal CBD
To ensure that any CBD you consume is halal, there are some simple steps that you can take:
1. Find a trustworthy retailer
The UK CBD industry is still largely unregulated, so, there are some unscrupulous retailers selling poor quality products. Look for a retailer that is transparent about their processes and what is in the bottle.
Find a company you can trust by looking at customer reviews and by reading the information provided on their websites.
2. Check third-party lab tests
The best retailers and CBD brands will display third-party lab results on their product pages. These are conducted by independent laboratories and verify the content of a sample from each batch of product.
Look for products with certificates that show that THC was not detected or that it is present in trace amounts. Even if a brand claims “zero THC” or “THC free” it’s still important to check that the certificates back up their claims. We have seen many sites that say zero THC but also contradictorily describe their product as full-spectrum (to be full-spectrum it must contain THC).
3. Look for certified vegan products
Products that have a vegan certification will contain no animal products which will prevent you from consuming items from animals that weren’t properly slaughtered. They will also be free from insect products such as cochineal red food colouring which is also haram.
Look for an official halal certification – Currently, halal-certified CBD is difficult to find, so you will need to rely on carrying out your own due diligence. However, as more people ask questions about whether it’s halal, the more likely that brands will include it in their processes and labelling. Most certification conducted in the UK is coordinated by the Halal Food Authority.
4. Check the ingredients
Once you’ve found a THC free, vegan product from a trustworthy retailer, it’s important to take a detailed look at the ingredients. Most CBD oils contain very few ingredients, but others may have unnecessary extras. Look out for additives, fillers and flavours that may not be halal.
If you would like assistance with selecting a halal CBD product feel free to give us a call on 020 8191 8621 or drop us an email here: [email protected]
Alternatively, we are happy to recommend a couple of products. As many are full-spectrum, these would not be suitable for a practising Muslim. We do stock a selection that are THC free and we have checked the ingredients closely to ensure there are no other haram components. Check out Love Hemp CBD oils, Love Hemp CBD capsules, the previously mentioned Cibdol capsules and Love CBD’s isolate e-liquid.
Whether you choose to consume CBD is entirely up to you but the growing consensus is that it’s likely to be halal. To be entirely sure, avoid tinctures, vape oils and products with colouring and flavouring.
It’s also important to use the third-party lab certificates to verify that it’s free from, or low in THC. If you have any doubts talk directly to the retailer before making your purchase.
Join us to get updates and special deals monthly:
Tom Russell writes extensively about CBD oil and other groundbreaking food supplements. He and his wife share their home with two daughters and a lifetime’s collection of books.
Many thanks for your question, Love CBD’s e-liquids (both Sativa and Indica strains) are THC free.
Hi Tom, sincere gratitude for the information.
Regarding on contacting you for more information, I was wondering is there a CBD vape juice you can recommend to me that is THC free and other haram ingredient free.
I do not know where to look as there is so many.
If you can give me a specific brand and how I can order them then I would be very grateful.